Tiger Woods was assessed a controversial 2-shot penalty at the Masters on Saturday morning for an illegal drop on Friday.
There was word Woods might end up being DQ'd, but the Masters issued a statement 40 minutes after play in the third round began.
The Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot on 15 while Woods was playing the 18th hole. At the time, the committee determined Woods had complied with the rules, according to the statement.
Woods admitted to playing his fifth shot from farther from the point where he hit his third shot, which would constitute playing from the wrong spot. The committee further reviewed and discussed the matter with Woods Saturday morning and concluded he did not deserve a DQ.