Hockey Hall Calls on Niedermayer, Chelios, Shanahan, and Heaney

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced the 2013 class Tuesday afternoon and former Sabres Dave Andreychuk and Phil Housley are still on the outisde, looking in.

Scott Niedermayer, Chris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan, Fred Shero and Geraldine Heaney were chosen as inductees.

Niedermayer is a 4-time cup winner with a Conn Smyth trophy as playoff MVP and 3 first-team All Star selections. Shanahan has 656 career goals on his resume to go with 3 cups. Chelious amassed 3 cups in an amazing 26 NHL seasons. Heaney won 7 IIHF medals and is the all-time leading scorer amongst defenders in womens hockey.

Along with Housley and Andreychuk, some notable players to miss the cut were Eric Lindros and Markus Nasland.